Irish Chamber Orchestra

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Date: 16th November 2018
Time: 8-10pm
Venue: Curtis Auditorium, CIT Cork School of Music

Irish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jord Widmann with guest soloist Katherine Spencer


SPOTLIGHT: Jörg Widmann and the ICO bring their irrepressible energy and insight to a thrilling programme featuring works by Tchaikovsky, Puccini and Stamitz, plus a new work by Irish composer Sebastian Adams. The acclaimed British clarinetist Katherine Spencer is the guest soloist.Buy tickets for Irish Chamber Orchestra


Puccini: Chrysanthemums for String Orchestra
Sebastian Adams: 2018.2 (ICO Commission)
Stamitz: Concerto for Clarinet in B flat major
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings in C Major, Op. 48

Irish Chamber Orchestra
Jörg Widmann Principal Conductor/Artistic Partner
Katherine Spencer Clarinet

This programme puts the spotlight on a new work by the up-and-coming Dubliner, Sebastian Adams, currently blazing a trail as a composer and viola player of repute, with a passion for contemporary music. His exciting new work explores the possibilities of the individuals in the orchestra as much as the instruments they play. Puccini’s Chrysanthemums was written as an elegy in response to the death of the Duke of Savoy. This beautifully poignant movement was also included in the death scene of Puccini‘s opera Manon Lescaut. Johann Stamitz pioneered the use of wind instruments as a permanent part of the orchestra. His Clarinet Concerto was an early milestone in the development of the genre, and Jörg Widmann has invited Katherine Spencer into the spotlight, to show off the vast technical and lyrical capabilities of her artistry, and the instrument. The final spotlight is on Tchaikovsky’s gorgeous Serenade for Strings, one of his most enduringly popular works. This, combined with the irrepressible energy and insight brought by Widmann and the ICO, has all the makings of an unforgettable performance!

“Widmann’s energy doesn’t seem to have any boundaries, he simply motivates everyone around him, be it the hard working shining brass, the zippy violins or the juicy explosions in sound.” Rhein-Neckar Zeitung

© CIT Arts Office | web development by Granite Digital